HEY HEY, YOU YOU, I WANNA BORROW YOUR CHORUS
April 2, 2007, 3:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

, avril.jpg
Avril Lavigne‘s new single ‘Girlfriend’ has a suspicious amount of similarities to The Rubinoos 1978 hit ‘I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend’, especially in the chorus (ie. Hey Hey, You You), and to a lesser extent, the beat, the lyrics, and the pacing.  ‘Girlfriend’ had previously been often linked to Tony Basil‘s one hit ‘Mickey’. 
Avril had told MTV News, “I wrote ‘Girlfriend’ when I was drunk. With my new song ‘Girlfriend,’ the second I was singing the melody, the lyrics were coming out: ‘I don’t like your girlfriend.’ The chorus was written in two minutes. It took nothing.”  The Canadian songstress had earlier encountered songwriting controversy when the Matrix took credit for all the songwriting on her debut ‘Let Go’, upsetting her to the point she’s never worked with the hitmakers since.Watch the ‘Girlfriend’ and ‘Mickey’ videos and check out the ‘I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend’ track at myspace.com/rubinoos to compare.

,
Avril Lavigne arrives at Los Angeles airport, March 31

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

She is SO original.

I am SO glad this is temporary Arasto, if I have to re-type my name every time I comment, I may go batshit.

Comment by parissucksliterally

Haha yeah, she is so original! Avril should just STFU.

Comment by Maximum Big Surprise

The “Hey, you and I wanna be your…” bits are the only similarites, harldy poetry is it?!

Comment by Kimberley

wow she is again wearing an H&M hoody!

Comment by Bonny

She pretty much admitted that her song sucks, saying that it was really easy to write and drunk lyrics. Greeeeeaaaaatttt. I really don’t like the song way too teenybopperish for me and no depth to it at all. I like Avril’s last albums but so far this one is shaping up to be kinda gay and only appealing to 14 year old punk wannabes.

Comment by Stephi

^I agree.

This song is ridiculously bad and when it started playing on the radio today on my way to school, my roommate and I cringed at the same time before we simultaneously reached for the button to change the station. Ick.

Comment by Aysla

whats wrong with her?????!???

Comment by Sibel




Leave a Reply

