CELEBRITY QUOTE OF THE DAY
April 20, 2007, 9:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

“Thank you to everyone who has posted messages of suppport and understanding. Naturally, it is not best for a parent to lose their temper with their child. Everyone who knows me privately knows that I have endured a great deal over the last several years in my custody litigation. Everyone who knows me privately knows that certain people will go to any lengths to embarass me and to disrupt my relationship with my daughter.

In such public cases, your opponents attempt to take a picture of you on your worst day and insist that this is who you are as a person. Outside the doors of divorce court, I have friends, I have respect from people I work with and I have a normal relationship with my daughter. All of that is threatened whenever one enters a court room.

Although I have been told by numerous people not to worry too much, as all parents lose their patience with their kids, I am most saddened that this was released to the media because of what it does to a child. I’m sorry, as everyone who knows me is aware, for losing my temper with my child. I have been driven to the edge by parental alienation for many years now. You have to go through this to understand. (Although I hope you never do.) I am sorry for what happened. But I am equally sorry that a court order was violated, which had deliberately been put under seal in this case.

Once my book is published, I’m sure more people will understand the incredible strains created by parental alienation.”

Alec Balwin, addresses a leaked tape where he “loses his temper” after his 10-year-old daughter failed to answer his phone call

34 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s what he calls “losing his temper”??? Wow, I’d call it a psychp freak out from an overblown, ego-obsessed, control maniac who probably should be locked up. Nice plug for the book, pal.

Comment by lola lola

Alright, I know this might be a minority opinion but… I understand where he’s coming from. It’s not right for him to have lost his temper with his daughter or take out his frustrations on her the way he did. I do think, however, that the rocky relationship he has had with his ex since the divorce has caused for the buildup of many negative emotions. He is obviously a man with anger management problems, but I have a feeling that Kim is also a very manipulative person (and since she has custody of their child… this is like a clay aiken family situation ver.2). When my parents divorced they were very angry and hateful towards the other and often put my sib and I in the middle of things- trying to manipulate the situation a lot and sometimes took their frustrations with each other out on us… so I can relate.

It’s very sad that their daughter is forced to play middleman of all their problems with each other. As parents, they are acting incredibly selfish. They need to get some kind of counseling to help get over their anger at each other and start acting more responsibly for the sake of their child.

Comment by Aysla

kim has said for years that he’s got an out of control temper, now the public FINALLY sees it.
the things he has called his poor daughter is emotionally damaging and I hope he loses having any type of custody. Visitations maybe, as long as he does not talk to her like that ever again.

Comment by blake

On another note, I think that was a very inappropriate time to plug his book. He should get his priorities straightened out… Stupid move.

Comment by Aysla

blah blah blah, lies, lies lies.

dude needs anger management classes, plain and simple. also finding jesus might help. he should talk to stephen about that.

nice plug for your book too, jackass.

Comment by yourdumb

When I listened to the tape I have to admit I was really shocked. But a lot of parents sometimes forget that they are talking to children and I’m sure a lot of parents have lost their temper a little, not necessarily like he did, with their children and feel really bad about it afterwards. It’s unfortunate for him and his family that this was released.

Comment by Stephi

I can understand that there may be extenuating circumstances surrounding the phone call in particular or their relationship in general. That being said, there’s no way to excuse what he said. He’s supposedly a grown man, yet he threw a temper tantrum like a child. He needs some serious counseling (as does everyone else in that family).

Comment by Kidge

Where can I get my copy of “I Hate Kim Basinger’s Guts and Here’s Why”? Loser.

Comment by Randi

Yeah, he lost his temper, and since he was leaving a voicemail, not speaking directly to his child, I’m sure some things slipped out that he most likely would not have said to her. I bet most of the anger was directed at his ex-wife. And I’d guess that he has apologized to his daughter for what he said and tried to make amends.

Comment by KZ

If Basinger linked the voice mail message I think she’s worse than Alec. Yes, he does appear to have anger issues. Calling your child a pig is never appropriate and having the world know it is just the worse. How is that kid going to face her classmates on Monday. These two seems to have lost track of what’s most important in thier twisted battle to gain custody is the physical as well as mental stability of their child. They are equally disgusting.

Comment by amara

I have known some 12 year olds that were monsters and in need of a very good ass whipping. I’ve had the feeling for years that Kim is messed up and using her daughter to get back at Alec. It sounds like his relationship with Ireland is in poor shape already. Name calling will only make it worse.

Comment by Brandy

He thinks he can explain his behavior away?

Narcissistic jerk

Comment by B :)

Zero accountability! And now trying to shift attention to the broken court order as if that somehow cancels out that he’s an asshole. Complete knob and horrible excuse for a father. Shame on him!

Comment by WTF

While what he said was wrong, I kind of feel bad for Alec (although, I feel much worse for his daughter). I mean, no parents are perfect and I would guess that most have lost their temper irrationally or not and said things that are unnecessarily mean that they regret. Unfortunately it happens, and it can only be resolved between Alec and his daughter. They don’t need all these people drawing attention to it like something similar has *never* happened in their lives.

Comment by Gidget

Not sure if I’m more offended by his speaking to his child in that manner or that fact that it was released. How sad for the child. I’ve lost my temper with my son (not to that extent) but we discussed it privately … as it should be. Question: Just who is looking out for this child’s welfare?

Comment by candyapple

He has a very very current and past history of violence.

Perhaps this public bitch slap will help him keep his temper under control.

I bet he goes to a Dominatrix.

Comment by B :)

nice of him to confirm that the tape wasn’t a fake

Comment by S

there’s alot of scrutiny over this tape, but alot of the parents i know, as well as my parents are just like that and sometimes worse.
everybody gets angry sometimes. it’s not like he hits anyone.

Comment by sigh

dfd

Comment by deena

I’m 32 y/o and my mom called me things like “little bitch” and “spoiled brat”, would go on yelling tantrums through our house spitting hatefully out about ‘these bitchin’ kids’ (my two brothers and I).

Was she like that all the time? No. Did she ever apologize? No. Clearly she could not control her temper and frustration/unhappiness. Trust me, I was not a problem child. I still to this day remember her behaving this way and calling me those names. It affects you. SHE should have been the adult, just as Alex should be the adult. Blaming Ireland for how HE feels?? I feel very, very badly for her. Being 11, she is trapped.

Comment by Ally

I don’t like him but I like Kim even less. Poor Ireland!

Comment by Pole

Kim is a fruitcake….Team Baldwin!!!!!!!

Comment by Kathy

I guess he can’t win with the sort of people leaving comments on here. Do any of you actually interact with any children? They can be thoughtless and hurtful at the best of times – and adults are not perfect. I prefer Kim’s movies but that does not make her a better person than her husband. Personally I find his explination to be moderate, reasoned, and I dare say it comes from a place where there is a lot of frustraition. Who is this good for – nobody – who is it sad for – all of them. He may or may not manage to sustain a relationship with his daughter when she grows up – that is for them to negotiate – but the fact remains whatever he did – he certainly didn’t leak this – and if I was the kid it would be the leaking of something so hurtful that would sting the most. Who would do such a thing? Who would have anything to gain? Step forwards Kim. Now is that good parenting either? No sir.

Comment by Lord Wednesday Horlicks

We’re arguing about who is the good parent? Hmmmm. How about who would marry that monster? Or did he just become a monster once they had a child? I don’t think so. Yes, its a bad move to leak it but releasing a tape to the public may be the only way for her to get him to understand how bad his behaviour is! Obviously from his “statement” he doesn’t think he acted that badly. I do understand there are children who need discipline and that parents are allowed to lose their tempers and be human–but COME ON! Did you hear that tape? Too too much! The man needs professional help…and sadly, probably the daughter too now.

Comment by Lola Lola

I hold this as yet another reason one should get a license before having kids.

Comment by Mandalay

I think there needs to be an online petition to support Alec Baldwin and his efforts to “straighten out” Ireland Baldwin. She sounds like a spoiled brat.

Comment by Catie

I think both parents hve let the animosity they have for each other rule the day. I love AB but I know he’s capable of being a serious over the top jerk. I don’t love KB, but I have alway thought she was a fry short of a happy meal.

Comment by Trinidad

Catie, how she sound like a SB when all there is to go on is her not answering the phone when her daddy called? The kid should not be blamed for what her wacko parents a tripped up about. She didn’t ask to come here.

Comment by Trinidad

what a temper Mr. Alex Baldwin..if i were your daughter i wouldn’t call you back either!!!!! how could you talk to your daughter like that..disqusting!

Comment by k

Someone who says things like “you’re a disgusting little pig” most likely does not have a “normal relationship with [his] daughter.” Verbally abusive parents very often deny that they are abusive, as is apparent by his statement. I hope his daughter can get help and learn to deal with this. This kind of crap sticks with you for life.

Comment by 4PetesSake

No wonder the child did not want to talk to him. How can he expect respect from a child who’s being called a disgusting little pig?
He’s the adult, he should be the one using his brains.

Comment by Hello

OK, so I just went to listen to the tape, and yes its harsh – harsh that a man is being put through such shit just to talk to his daughter who he clearly loves or he wouldn’t be so upset in the first place. All things considered I don’t think he’d be bothering if his heart gave him any other choice. What a terrible situation to be in. There are many fathers out there who are made out to be evil aggressers when what they are is powerless and frustraited and angry.

Comment by Lord Wednesday Horlicks

“Lord” WH, how is it he is being “put thru such shit? Have you ever not answered a call before? That is “putting someone thru shit?”…wow., your life must be pretty easy. He threatened to “fix her ass”? Please tell me how that’s NOT mean? It sounds like he is threatening her with physical violence….I do understand that many parents in divorce situations are purposely put in unfair & even false lights by the other spouse..but here, he did it to HIMSELF. It’s his voice & his tirade. He is clearly out of control and is very scary–and I’m NOT an 11 or 12 year old child and he scares the crap out of me!

Comment by Lola Lola

Parents, that includes Alec Baldwin, have the right to get angry with their disrespectful children. Baldwin sounds like a frazzled, concerned parent who wants to have a relationship (albeit a weird one) with his daughter. I say let’s straighten out Ireland! Before she ends up like all the other spoiled hollywood princesses who appear in blogs everyday.

Comment by Catie




Leave a Reply

